Current status of the band

Debut album "Contempt for Man" to be released by Southern Lord Recordings July 27

Early 2018 our upcoming album "Contempt for Man" was finished. It was recorded during June - August 2017 by ourselves and mixed on and off by Johan Berglund. A deal was struck with Southern Lord Recordings who will release the album on CD, LP and digital. The album contains 20 brand new songs and has a nice artwork drawn by Paul Romano.

The vinyl version of the album will be released in three different colors - black, silver (as part of Southern Lord’s anniversary series) and gold. CD's and LP's can now be pre-ordered through Southern Lord US, Southern Lord Europe or through Bandcamp where three songs are available for free right now! Listen to "The Wolven Law", "Crush the Empire", and "A Life of Ceaseless Grind".

Folk bosatta i Sverige har möjlighet att förhandsbeställa skivan i alla tänkbara utföranden direkt från bandet. E-posta oss (adress längst ned på sidan) och vi hör av oss när denna möjlighet finns!

We are happy that the album finally has a release date and are anxious to share it with the world. We are very satisfied with the songs and Johan's mix that certaintly has added a bunch of power to the material.

Tracklist: 1. Värdelös, 2. Demons and Angels, 3. Pawn Sacrifice, 4. The Wolven Law, 5. Lockdown, 6. The Punishment Begins, 7. The Noose Tightens, 8. Det går aldrig, 9. Crush the Empire, 10. Pre-Emptive Nuclear Strike, 11. A Life of Ceaseless Grind, 12. Streams of Sludge, 13. Into the Hard Earth, 14. The Pain Maze, 15. Vile Behaviour, 16. Defeat, 17. Dull Dead Future, 18. To Smite, 19. A Brutal Truth, 20. Flytande död

Check out our YouTube page for some teasers and pre-production demos!

Also in the pipeline... ...During 2016 we recorded, mixed and submitted two new songs for a Swedish compilation yet not announced. The songs are called "To Hell with Tomorrow" and "Ripped off and Left Behind" and clocks in at more or less exactly two minutes.

We also have six additional songs recorded at the same time as "Contempt for Man" hopefully to be released as a stand along 7" EP. More info to come!

Latest release: "Mankind Crawls" 7" EP

The second release from Axis of Despair is another six track 7" EP entitled "Mankind Crawls". The songs were recorded during the same session as "Time and Again" and is a co-release by Give Praise Records and Spela Snabbare Records. The 7" EP was released in October 2016 in 250 yellow and 250 black vinyls and we currently only have the black (Swedish version) for sale.

Order the 7" EP here!
Listen to "Under the Surface" at YouTube!

Still available: "Time and Again" 7" EP

First release from Axis of Despair, "Time and Again" includes six tracks of true Swedish grindcore, recorded in the legendary Soundlab Studios in Örebro, Sweden. Released by Selfmadegod Records in a first pressing of 500 copies, 100 in a limited edition with clear vinyl and 400 in a regular edition with black vinyl.

Buy it from the band!
Listen to "Tattooed Corpse" at YouTube!


Apart from the 7" EP's we have a t-shirt in two different versions for sale right now! A few charcoal colored t-shirts with black print are still left, but there are plenty more of new version that is a new black t-shirt with gold print. Also we have a few black tote bags wtih gold print. To round it of we have added a few items from some releated bands. The amounts are limited so hurry up with your order!

Go to the merchandise page!

Live shows!

July 18-22, 2018: Obscene Extreme Festival, Trutnov, Czech Republic.

July 3, 2016 - First show as support to Black Breath at En Arena in Stockholm, Sweden. Other support acts were This Gift is a Curse and Fredag den 13:e.
October 29, 2016 - Second show with the legendary Finish crust icons Riistetyt and Crutches at Plektrum Bar in Örebro, Sweden.
October 21, 2017 - Third show as support to Facebreaker at Scenit/Kulturhuset i Örebro in Örebro, Sweden.

Slight history of the band

Axis of Despair features former and present members of such bands as Nasum, Coldworker, Infanticide, Volturyon, Livet som insats, Nervgift and Overtorture. To be exact: The band was formed by former Coldworker members Anders Jakobson (drums), Oskar Pålsson (bass) and Joel Fornbrant (vocals) in the end of 2013. About half a year later the line up was completed by Livet som insats member Kristofer Jankarls playing the guitar. The band continued to work on songs until the late spring of 2015 when the first 12 tracks were recorded to be released on two, sort of, conjoined 7" EP's. Expect more grindcore and more released from Axis of Despair in the near future!

Related bands

Overtorture, Volturyon, Livet som insats, Nervgift, Infanticide, Nasum, Coldworker, Proteststorm

Social shit and contact

Currently you can follow Axis of Despair on Facebook, YouTube, Instagram or Spotify, or you can write to